Home > Sci Tech > Winners of Infosys Prize 2020

Winners of Infosys Prize 2020

What is the Infosys Prize?

The Infosys Prize seeks to raise India’s science and research prestige and inspire young Indians to choose a vocation for research. The award is presented annually to recognize outstanding contributions by contemporary scholars and scientists in six disciplines: engineering and computer sciences, humanities, life sciences, mathematical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences, each with a USD 100,000 gold medal award, a quote, and a purse. The award is meant to recognize scientific achievement and to be a marker of competence in these regions. In each of these disciplines, a panel composed of eminent figures evaluates the achievements of the nominees against international research criteria, putting the winners on a par with the finest scholars in the world.

In 2008, the Infosys Prize in Mathematics was first awarded. The Infosys Prize was awarded in 4 other categories following the establishment of the Infosys Science Foundation (ISF). In January 2012, the ISF announced a sixth category—the Infosys Humanities Prize. the six categories are Engineering and Computer Science, Humanities, Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Science.

Infosys Science Foundation Awards 2020

The Infosys Science Foundation (ISF) awarded, the winners of the Infosys Prize 2020 were announced virtually on 2nd December 2020 after a press release on 17th November 2020. Out of 257 nominations, the winners were handpicked by a jury of renowned scholars and professors from around the world. The Prize winners in the different fields of ISF are

Engineering and Computer Science

Porf. Hari Balakrishnan

For his extensive contributions to computer networking, and his seminal work on mobile and wireless systems, from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The commercial use of mobile telematics by Prof. Balakrishnan enhances the behavior of the driver and makes roads safer, ISF said.


Dr. Prachi Deshpande

For her “nuanced and sophisticated treatment” of South Asian historiography, from the Centre for Studies in Social Sciences (CSSS), Kolkata. According to the ISF, from the Maratha era onwards, Dr. Deshpande’s book “Creative Pasts” and several articles provide fine insight into the development of modern history writing in Maharashtra and give a novel perspective on Western India’s history.

Life Sciences

Dr. Rajan Sankaranaranyanan

For “fundamental contributions to understanding one of the most basic mechanisms in biology, the error-free translation of the genetic code to make protein molecules,” from the Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology (CCMB), Hyderabad. The ISF has reported that the work of Mr. Sankaranarayanan has potential applications in drug design, such as antibiotics and immunosuppressants.

Mathematical Sciences

Prof. Sourav Chatterjee

From Stanford University in probability and mathematical mechanics for his “groundbreaking work.” “The Prof. In areas such as the evolving body of work on large deviations for random graphs, the collaborative work of Chatterjee played a critical role,” the ISF said.

Physics Sciences

Prof. Arindam Ghosh

For the production of atomically thin two-dimensional semiconductors by the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore, for the construction of a new generation of practical electronic, thermoelectric and optoelectronic devices. The development of a new forum for light-matter interaction by Prof. Ghosh profoundly impacts quantum technologies and sensing, the ISF said.

Social Sciences

Prof. Raj Chetty

For his “pioneering research in identifying barriers to economic opportunity and developing solutions that help people escape poverty to improve life outcomes,” Harvard University. According to the ISF, the research and exceptional capacity of Prof. Chetty to detect trends in broad data have the potential to cause substantial changes in the economics discipline.


Image Courtesy: Infosys Prize 2020 Facebook Page.